International edition
September 27, 2021

Event will explore emerging issues affecting gaming regulators, policymakers and industry executives

IAGR announces Lima Conference program and speakers

IAGR announces Lima Conference program and speakers
The International Association of Gaming Regulators (IAGR) has announced its program for the 2015 Annual Conference that will take place in Lima, Peru on October 13-15, 2015.
Peru | 09/10/2015

The International Association of Gaming Regulators (IAGR) has announced its program for the 2015 Annual Conference that will take place in Lima, Peru on October 13-15, 2015.


he conference will focus on challenges faced by regulators as they seek to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of gambling oversight. Expected to attend the annual gathering are IAGR members who represent gaming jurisdictions from throughout the world including those in North America, Europe, Asia-Oceania, Africa, Central America, Caribbean and South America. Industry representatives are also invited to attend the conference.

The Program Sessions currently planned include:

Welcome Address from Mrs. Magali Silva Velarde-Alvarez, Minister of Ministry of Foreign Trade and Tourism
Messages from the International Olympic Committee 
Gaming Regulation in Peru  
Keynote Address by James Maida, President & CEO, Gaming Laboratories International, LLC
Match fixing, Sports and Sports Betting Corruption:  Regulators, National/Sports Platforms and Interpol – A Vital Partnership
Changing Landscapes:  “Convergent Development:  How is this Challenging Traditional Regulation and Regulators?” 
How to Build a Gambling Authority  
Lessons from the Junket Business in Atlantic City and in Macao 
Regulating / Investigating Remote Gambling
Latin America 360°  
The Memory of Justice
Duty of Care
Do You Need to Know Your Customer?
Joint Cooperation Between Authorities and Industry

Confirmed Speakers at this date include:

Marja Appelman, CEO, Netherlands Gaming Authority
Tom Auriemma, Member, Compliance Committee, Penn National Gaming
Lydia Barbara, Head of Pegasus Gaming Solutions, Microgaming
Phill Brear, Gambling Commissioner, Gibraltar
Steve Brennan, Chief Executive Officer, Isle of Man Gambling Supervision Commission
Micheil Brodie, Chief Executive, Independent Liquor and Gaming Authority of New South Wales & IAGR Trustee
Nick Casiello, Chair – Gaming Practice Group, Fox Rothschild LLP
Mark Clayton, Shareholder & Co-Chair Global Gaming Practice, Greenberg Traurig, LLP
Charles Coppolani, Chairman, ARJEL
Joseph Cuschieri, Executive Chairman, Malta Gambling Authority
Carlos Fonseca Sarmiento, Partner & Founder, Varela & Fonseca Abogados S.A.C.
Heliodoro Giner, Chairman, European Association for the Study of Gambling & General Secretary, Spanish Casino Association
Professor Jorge Godinho, Visiting Professor, University of Macau
Julian Harris, Senior Partner, Harris Hagan
Susan Hensel, Director of Licensing, Pennsylvania Gaming Control Board & IAGR Trustee
Joerg Hofmann, President, International Masters of Gaming Law
Gustaf Hoffstedt, Secretary General, BOS Swedish Trade Association for Online Gambling
Roland Iparraguirre, Deputy Director, Oregon Lottery
Connie Jones, Director of Responsible Gaming, Association of Gaming Equipment Manufacturers (AGEM)
Dr. Jason Lane, Chief Executive, Jersey Gambling Commission
Alfredo G. Lazcano Sámano, Managing Partner and Director, Lazcano Samano, S.C.
Michael D. Lipton, Q.C., Senior Partner, Dickinson Wright LLP
James Maida, President and Chief Executive Officer, Gaming Laboratories International, LLC
Friedrich Martens, Head of Integrity Betting Intelligence System, Ethics and Compliance Office, International Olympic Committee
Bheki Mlambo, Chief Executive Officer, Mpumalanga Gambling Board, IAGR Vice President & Trustee
Sungki Park, Secretary General, National Gambling Control Commission (Republic of Korea)
Dr. Simon Planzer, Founding Partner, Planzer Law
Thierry Pujol, Director of Sport Integrity, Française des Jeux (FDJ)
Pieter Remmers, Director, Assissa Consultancy Europe
Eric Rios, Director, Junta de Control de Juegos, Panama
Morten Ronde, Chief Executive Officer, Danish Online Gambling Association (DOGA)
Manuel San Roman, CEO – Casino Games and Slot Machines, Ministry of Foreign Trade and Tourism of Peru
Birgitte Sand, Director, Danish Gambling Authority, IAGR President & Trustee
Jerry See, CEO, Casino Regulatory Authority of Singapore & IAGR Trustee
Fortune Sekgaphane, Chief Executive Officer, North West Gambling Board (South Africa) & IAGR Trustee
Professor Carlos Siu, Associate Professor, Macao Polytechnic Institute
Wayne Snell, Assistant Director – Integrity in Sport, Interpol
Mattias Spitz, Partner, MELCHERS Law Firm
Nick Tofiluk, Executive Director – Regulatory Operations, Gambling Commission (United Kingdom) & IAGR Trustee
Éamonn Toland, President, Paddy Power North America
Linda Vøllestad Westbye, Deputy Director General, The Norwegian Gaming and Foundation Authority
Jenny Williams, Commissioner & Chief Executive, Gambling Commission (United Kingdom)
Andre Wilsenach, Executive Director, Alderney Gambling Control Commission

The conference is being held in conjunction with the International Masters of Gaming Law annual conference which will run October 14-16, 2015. Both conferences will take place at the JW Marriott Hotel Lima.

What is your opinion about this article?
  • I like it
    0 votos
  • I don't like it
    0 votos
  • I have not thought about it
    0 votos
Leave your comment
Newsletter Subscription
Subscribe to receive the latest news and updates
Enter a valid email
Complete the captcha
Thank you for registering to our newsletter.
Follow us on Facebook